How to become a Nevada Process Server
The Nevada Private Investigators Licensing Board has posted licensing information on becoming a process server in Nevada. In summary, it requires:
• Be 21 years of age.
• Be a citizen of the United States or lawfully entitled to remain and work in the
• Be of good moral character and temperate habits.
• Have no conviction of a felony or a crime involving moral turpitude or the
illegal use or possession of a dangerous weapon.
• Undergo a criminal history background check through the Federal Bureau of
Investigation (FBI), the Nevada Highway Patrol (NHP) and California
Department of Justice (CDOJ) if you have lived in or ever visited the State of
• Have 2 years (2,000 hours each year, totaling 4,000 hours) of process server
experience. An associate’s degree in Police Science or Criminal Justice is the
equivalent of 8 months or 1,333 hours, and a Bachelor’s Degree in Police
Science or Criminal Justice is the equivalent of 18 months or 3000 hours of
experience. Experience must be certified by your employer on the forms
provided in the application.
• Pass a one-hour written exam consisting of 50 questions with a score of 75% or